One Crazy Lady

Archive for March 24th, 2010

I think this week’s reading material touched on a lot of things that bother me about the culture we live in.
Television and other media that presents a warped view of reality (even in reality shows) influences the public’s purchasing decisions.
I see this most evident in my daughters clothing options. I’m kind of a yard sale junkie, and so when low waisted jeans became popular, I was really glad that we could still get jeans for the girls that did not show off the crack of their — every time they sat down.
I’ve even seen the top of a thong in church before!
But, now as we shop the Seminary Co-op (donated items for sem. families), I find most of the are short waisted. This is a huge challenge, with kids who are too busy playing to think about pulling up their pants.
I’m sick of seeing naked rear ends sticking out the back of women’s pants (it used to be called ‘plumbers butt’ and was iconic of what you might see when the fat plumber was bent over trying to get a look at your pipes). I’d be glad to know that these are going out of style.
I’m especially sick of seeing my the naked rear end of my 12 year old!

This problem is made worse by shirts that aren’t long enough to cover the top of the pants that aren’t tall enough to cover the body parts their intended to clothe. It seems I’m regularly pulling clothes out of my daughters wardrobe and getting rid of them because they are just plain inappropriate. While at the same time, I see girls their age and younger scantily dressed on a regular basis.


Older Posts

Calendar

March 2010
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other subscribers

Things I like to blog about

HOT STUFF