One Crazy Lady

Get a Better Body and Get it Fast!

Posted on: February 15, 2010

This is my blog for WOST #5
As I’m reading the material for this week Girl’s Life Magazine: Repeat Body Image Offenders. May 16, 2009. http://jezebel.com/5257583/girls-life-magazine-repeat-body-image-offenders and writing my summary, I am thinking about the magazine theme that demands consumers (specifically women) Get a Better Body and Get it Fast!
I realized that I’ve seen a variation on this headline on nearly every magazine in the checkout line at the grocery store every month for my entire life. So much so that I could even write them. So, here’s my resume to all the magazines that are supposed to be for women: I’ll write next years headlines for you:

January: Work off that Holiday Meal! Get a Better Body and Get it Fast!

February: Make your Valentine Happy! Get a Better Body and Get it Fast!

March: Spring Break Trip! Nobody Wants to See Your Big Fat Butt! Get a Better Body and Get it Fast!

April: Swimsuits Are On The Store Racks! You Don’t Look Good In Any of Them! Get a Better Body and Get it Fast!

May: Lose that Winter Weight! You Big Cow! Get a Better Body and Get it Fast!

June: Summer is Almost Here! Your Legs are Too Fat for Shorts! Get a Better Body and Get it Fast!

July: The Kids Want to Go to the Beach! Your Swimsuit Makes You Look Fat! Get a Better Body and Get it Fast!

August: Back to School Shopping! All the Clothes Make you Look Fat! Get a Better Body and Get it Fast!

September: The other Soccer Moms are Thinner than You! Get a Better Body and Get it Fast!

October: We Have Sexy Costume Ideas! You’re too Fat for Them! Get a Better Body and Get it Fast!

November: Thanksgiving! You’re a Pig! Get a Better Body and Get it Fast!

December: The In-Laws Are Coming! They Think You’re Fat! Get a Better Body and Get it Fast!

Well, on second thought, I’m probably too fat for the job.

3 Responses to "Get a Better Body and Get it Fast!"

Love it, love it, love it. Those headlines really made me laugh, yet it is unfortunate that they probably all could (and maybe have) appear(ed) on the cover of a magazine. I didn’t know how to feel after seeing the girls-life-magazine covers and reading about the prevalence of eating disorders in young girls and how it is fueled by our culture and media. I assume, by the looks of the covers of this particular magazine, that the target audience is young girls. Why is it then, with all of the research we have in how damaging it can be for young girls to diet, do magazines like this one promote weight loss and dieting as being healthy and necessary?

Your blog # 5 is so cool. I love it. My wieght is 130 lb, I think I’ m fat, but I don’t like to excersise because I’m afraid that I will be really skinny. My parents will say” Gods! You are so sick.” They don’t like me to look skinny, there is another way to get average size without go online or fitness center.

Oh my goodness! I loved this blog post. It was just so straight forward and those monthly headlines were really funny. But you know the sad thing is that I realized after I read them was that they were all headlines that I have seen before, or at least very, very similar. Yes, its very healthy to have a good body and promoting a healthy body is good for society since we in the last few years, cases of obesity have gone up tremendously. Although, it is good to have a healthy mind as well and in magazines and other public advertisements are constantly judging and nagging women about their body shape it can get overwhelming. Especially since you wouldn’t want to be getting into shape yourself, it would be only to satisfy someone else, particularly a male.

Leave a Reply

Older Posts

Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Things I like to blog about

HOT STUFF

